Stealth Cooking…

Making  porridge for myself and Spider insists that he should share it so I search the fridge for something to stir into it to make it less hot and foolishly I say “I’m putting marmalade in it, is that ok” at which point he informs me that he doesn’t like marmalade.

Strange. He likes jam. He likes orange and orange juice. What is marmalade but orange jam ? Anyway I think nothing more about it and instead stir condensed milk into the porridge. Yes I know, bad mummy ! Think of the effect on his teeth, yed but think of the effect on his cholesterol levels all that lovely oatey goodness…am sure my addiction to porridge is why I don’t have to worry about my cholesterol level (apparently).

Anyway, later I get to thinking about Spider not liking marmalade, and well it seems like a challenge. Am  fed up of my family announcing arbitrarily that they don’t like this and they don’t like that and I’m sure that most of them are very specific for example my husband doesn’t like anchovies but does like worcester sauce which is made out of anchovies.

It seems a bit strange to be trying to sneak marmalade into someone’s diet, most parents are trying to sneak vegetables into their children’s food whereas my son has been none to shoplift carrots… it is however a perfect excuse to make Nigel Slater’s  Frosted Marmalade cake, but tonight not now, tonight when my little monster has gone to bed and he can’t spot the marmalade being added to the batter !

One thought on “Stealth Cooking…

  1. Son won’t eat fish but for my birthday, hubby offered to cook anything that I wanted. I opted for speghetti putanesca, which, as you probably know, has anchovies in. I said to hubby, hide the tine and chuck them in when son’s not looking. The loved the food and still doesn’t know he’s eaten fish!
    Result.

Leave a Reply

