Yay !

Yay ! I have contact lenses…I feel like me again…but more of that another time…

I love this time of the year. I think I mentioned last year that I like Halloween, but not for the trick and treat, for the food. And Bonfire night ! I love Bonfire night but not for the fireworks but for sausages and baked potatoes and toffee…planning on going to a party weekend of the 7th purely because they are offering a hog roast…but back to Halloween.

I did not this year make the Ghoul Graveyard cake as Halloween clashed with my Dad’s birthday party. So instead I borrowed an idea from Domesticali and made some ghostie lollipops for nearest and dearest and closest small people. We had a wonderful scary pumpkin carved by Husband and I have a fridge full of pumpkin carvings waiting to become soup…but they will have to wait as I also have a fridge full of leftovers due to overbuying for half term (Teenager came to stay for most of it).

My Dad is a very lucky boy as due to a diary clash he gets to celebrate both this weekend (31st) and again on the 7th. My brother couldn’t make the 31st as he had another party to go to, whereas we couldn’t make the 7th as we were hoping to go to a Mercedez day at Brooklands (shhshh, don’t tell Spider but Lewis Hamilton might be there).

Tried to make a cake that might keep the week and still be nice…and that always means gingerbread but as a concession to the fact most people eating it will be under 7 he has Nigella’s chocolate gingerbread, which is nice but not as nice as liberkuchen…but that is an obsession to talk about another day…as is my liking for gingerbread in general (the only Starbucks coffee I have been known to drink is their gingerbread latte…I love the autumn !).

So yes I can see and all is well in my little corner of the world… oh and a picture of a very very brown cake to follow when I can find the camera which has gone walk about again – SPIDER !!!

2 thoughts on “Yay !

  1. Mmmmmmmmmm gingerbread! One of the few naughties that slip into my (mostly!) sugar-free world is an occasional gingerbread man…

Leave a Reply

