A bad soup

We have a dish in our house, which is made without a recipe, it’s known as “End of Life Soup” aka “What’s in the bottom of the Veg drawer Soup” and oddly enough it works…everytime.

But sometimes I do make a bad soup but it’s never this one.

Two of the most recent bad experiments have involved the same recipe as it’s base which makes me wonder if this is a soup that has to be made as written including using stock made as per the recipe or alternatively it may be better not to liquidise.

The soup in question is the Covent Garden Soup company’s Bacon and Lentil Soup (invented to raise money for Crisis at Christmas) and it just doesn’t work for me.

The stock is a ham stock and they recommend using the poaching liquid from cooking a ham (in water a small part of brown sugar and some malt vinegar) – the first time I made it I faked a stock with a stock cube and some bacon, the second was the liquid from a ham cooked in apple juice. I can’t remember why I didn’t like the first soup but this second one was just far too sweet.

Second issue with the soup is it is just too “cloying”, the lentils (and split peas) are liquidised and even with adding extra water it just comes out as a thick brown mush.

it tastes bad, it looks bad and it smelled bad…. however you looked at it, this was just not a good soup.

However I do have lots of veg that has seen better days so hopefully the Karma of the End of Life soup will cleanse my kitchen of this unpleasant experience…

3 thoughts on “A bad soup

  1. Isn’t a bad soup just the worst? ^_^ I absolutely adore soups – making AND eating them, and I’ve come to a fairly regular regime that seems (so far) to be fairly fool proof 🙂 We have a roast chicken most Sunday nights, and I make a bone broth from the carcass. Then I use it as the base for any and all soups I make, and it is absolutely wonderful. It doesn’t impart a chicken flavour, but rather a rich, fragrant “umami” kind of quality – plus loads of nutrients! ^_^

  2. Yep ! I have learned to avoid a certain combination of tomatoes/lentils/spinach… in fact often the addition of passata to my soups ends up with them just seeming “muddy” in taste

    You can’t beat a good chicken stock, I think my addiction to pumpkin soup is largely based on the chicken stock its made with !

  3. Ahh pumpkin in a savoury dish sure is lovely – I can understand why you might be addicted! ^__^ So true – lentils and tomatoes both combine oddly with certain things, not always in a good way! ^__^ I agree, pasta does tend to make soups a bit mucky; recently I have been using leftover brown rice/quinoa instead; it holds its texture much better in the long run (and is better for you too!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

