Recipe: The “it’s 2am and I’ve hardly eaten for 11 days” smoothie

A long time ago I used to date lawyers, I remember one in particular who used to do a lot of sport in his teenage and student years, who proudly showed me his only piece of cooking equipment, a liquidiser. The liquidiser’s role was to help him produce his favourite after exercise drink the recipe for which he shared with me as comprising 2 large tablespoons of Nutella, 2 scopes ice cream, topped up with full cream milk.

Technically I guess the ice cream made it a shake rather than a smoothie. But smoothie or shake the exercise drink when taken regularly without the addition of exercise (and this lawyer had no time for exercise in between working and commuting) lead to a severe piling on of the poundage !

Smoothies can play a part of a healthy diet. The fruit admittedly has a high sugar content but the smoothie can be kept low fat depending on what dairy products you choose to add. Skimmed milk and ice cubes would be a better low fat option than full cream milk and ice cream.

At 2am in the morning however, with a limited range of ingredients and, due to the flu, not having eaten much food at all over the past 11 days, I was just looking for something that filled the hole in my tummy although part of me was thinking vaguely of the need to keep my strength up.

PEANUT AND BANANA POWER DRINK

Place 2 tablespoons peanut butter, 1-2 bananas in a liquidiser add a glass of milk. Blitz in liquidiser for 2 minutes or until smooth…add more milk if drink too thick.

Later in the day I made another one as an afternoon snack. This one was more weight conscious in that it consisted mainly of apples and bananas and no peanut butter…on reflection though I’d probably been better off replacing the milk with orange juice as the apples made the smoothie very fluffy !

No photos…it was 2am and I was very very hungry !

 

One thought on “Recipe: The “it’s 2am and I’ve hardly eaten for 11 days” smoothie

Leave a Reply

