Guilt and a recipette

If and when Spider learns to read I shall give up this blog as he will start to know slightly too much about what motivates me  (and no doubt many other parents) should he ever stumble across these pages.

I have been very grumpy of late and not spending enough time with him, in fact have been jumping at the chance to let him stick his “Walking with Dinosaurs” videos on.

On sunday I made pancakes (american) for breakfast. This indicates a sense of guilt on my part and an attempt to make up for it.  We had no maple syrup, (but then I don’t think the Gingerbread pancakes need much really) so I made a storecupboard sauce out of cloudy honey blitzed in the microwave with some orange juice.

I then went on to make the Marmalade cake which I’d been threatening to make for ages plus the bean soup I mentioned a few posts ago, using fennel instead of tarragon, as that’s what I had to hand – the cake went down well. Comment from Spider “well I’d call it gorgeous” – he’s such a smoothy, he knows how to charm a grumpy and unresponsive Mummy round to his way of thinking !

Leave a Reply

